Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What I learned by replacing the pads and discs on my i10 by myself.

This ‘rough guide’ can be used for most cars, as most cars use the same setup.

DISCLAIMER: I’m not a professional. By all means get stuck in. It feels great achieving something that you’ve done yourself. But don’t blame me if you shear a nut, break something, or whatever. So take your time.

This is hopefully going to be a quick(ish) topic on what I learned when replacing the pads and discs on my 2010 i10 by myself, for the first time, on my driveway and a quick rundown of the tools I used.

If any professionals would like to correct me on anything, please do so. I’m still learning.

This is not a step by step guide. If you want to see and learn how to replace pads and rotors check out on YouTube. ChrisFix and EricTheCarGuy are a couple good sources. Plus Edd China did one quite recently. However if after reading this you want me to do a step by step then let me know and I’ll type one up, including all torque settings.

If you have the confidence, you should try it yourself, once I’d done the first brake assembly, the NSF and both rears were done in less than 2 hours.

I didn’t take many photos as I wanted to get the job done, as it was about 4 degrees outside and my hands were cold.

Pads were around 4 years old and the discs were the original ones from the factory.

First of all, safety.

Drake dust and lungs don’t mix. Neither does brake cleaner and eyes. Also you will encounter rust, which is not good for your lungs either. I wore eye protection and a mask when I was scrubbing the brakes. I also wore nitrile gloves to protect my hands from the grease and cleaner and all sorts of contaminants.