Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have experience with the adaptive learning function of our older cars? My 2000 sonata 2.5 has never shifted at full throttle since ive owned it. The car will only rev to around 5k rpm and wont shift unless you let off the gas. Had a po500 for speed sensor so i replaced ut but no change. Replaced the output sensor ( i think thats the one under the shift linkage) and the car will now rev and shift properly but after driving it a little it goes back to not shifting.

I drove the car awhile to make sure transmission fluid is at operating temperature to exclude that as an issue , pulled battery and exact same thing.

I had a brand new transmission installed through the hyundai dealership and its still happening so i know its not a transmission issue.

Ive been driving it for 5 years like this because normal driving is fine, its only those highway ramp situations where you have to accelerate and the car drops a gear then you have to let off and try to get back on it that causes some difficult situations.

I know i dont see many of this style sonata in the md/dc/va area on the road but i have essentially replaced every item on this car and it runs and drives like new. I even get the stock mpg that they had from factory.

So anyone with experience with this adaptive learning stuff please chime in, its the last issue with the car that keeps her from being new...to me.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Drive it around and drive how you would normally drive. I've read the manuals for this transmission. The learning kind of works both ways for you and the transmission. Don't drive aggressively but say more spirited driving downshift to accelerate and just work your gears you don't have to beat on it though. These transmissions have features that only present themselves if your driving style promotes them.