Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just bought a 200 elantra it had been sitting with a dead battery for a few months now has a good battery.after driving it have found out it shifts fine till the motor heats up once that happens it will not shift past 3rd if you stop at stop sign it is then stuck in 2nd have to turn car off and back on it will then shift from low but still only gong to 3rd. any thoughts. took to auto parts had it hooked up on computer and it showed 3rd and 4th gear as improper gear ratio

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
now its doing this

now when u first start it it will go from 1,2, to drive but never to overdrive if u stop it will not go back to 1st have to turn off engine then it will start from 1st

·
Registered
548 Posts
Sounds like a solenoid acting up, but I am by no means an expert on Transmissions and have only done few types of jobs on a few. Have you dropped the pan at all to see what the condition of fluid is and if you have any particles/metal pieces in there? Also, have you tried shifting manually, 1 to 2 and back down...?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
1st

no it wont go back manually either if i stop and put it in 1st have to turn it off. when i drive it and its going from 1st to drive it tries to go to overdrive but it just cant get there its like it goes in to od for just a split second then just stays in drive

·
Registered
548 Posts