Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to the forums. I have 2 sonatas. My 2013 (bought at the end of December) just got a flat today. Pretty sure road hazard isn't covered and to be honest not sure I want the Kumhos that are on it. So, I made a few quick calls and was told I had few replacement options in the 205/65 16s. I had one recommendation to go to 215s. So, never having put on a different size, are there any problems associated with this?

So, in a perfect world, what tires are recommended? I won't be using dedicated winter tires. Most hazardous driving will be in heavy rains although it could be in a fair amount of snow from time-to-time. Prefer handling even if I have to give up a little noise (only if I have to).

·
Registered
129 Posts
I hope this doesn't look like I am hijacking your thread, but it is related. Based on recommendations both on this forum and from friends who have recently bought tires, going to tirerack.com seemed to be the best route to buy tires. To purchase Continental Procontact Eco Plus from Tirerack.com, have them shipped, and mounted locally, the cost would have been $595.82 (tires, shipping, and installation - no tax). I just got a quote locally for the same tire, $560.25 total. No shipping cost, but have to pay the tax. @ $35.00 savings and supporting a local business.

Everyone's experience might be different, but for me, I'm buying mine from a local guy.

As for brand, I did use tirerack's comparison chart and determined the Continental's have all of the features I want, particularly quiet ride, good snow traction, and good gas mileage. There was a Michelin that was close, but I think the Continental's will be my choice.

Good luck to you!

·
Registered
4,473 Posts