Hyundai Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm the new kid here (actually 70 !) and our SF Sport 2.0T is a first for me. Since my first car, 1956 Nash Metro, I have been through a bunch or them but none have ever had a turbo.

I figured I'd come here to get some expert info. We have had the 2013 Sport for only a month. Right now it has only 900 miles, more or less. My question concerns what I consider to be a heavy coating of carbon in the dual tail pipes. It is a dry powder, not wet with oil or water. I have noticed when the wife drives off a little puff of blackish smoke out of the pipes. Is this normal for a turbo engine?

Many years ago I worked as a Service Adviser at a VW-Mazda dealership. If we saw the same thing out of our cars we knew the thing was running rich and needed to be adjusted. I understand with the newer injection systems there is less chance of this happening but the CPU just might have a hiccup and is letting the engine run a bit rich.

I called the Service Dept. and asked it I should bring it in for them to look at and the attitude was that it was normal during break-in and it would be a waste of time for me to have it checked out.

Since I am leasing it I figured, what the heck, it's really their car anyway so I'll just wait until the 3000 mile oil change and have them look at it then. If it is a problem and it pukes before then so be it.
Sorry if this a bit long but wanted you to know all the facts.

·
Registered
95 Posts
I'm the new kid here (actually 70 !) and our SF Sport 2.0T is a first for me. Since my first car, 1956 Nash Metro, I have been through a bunch or them but none have ever had a turbo.