Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I am a newbie to this forum and hoping you all can give me some ideas of my questions for the latest model of Tucson as I am hoping to get one soon.

I live in Vancouver Canada and not sure if the Hyundai has their 2011 Tuscon model yet ? This is already Aug 2010 now, if I buy, I might as well get the 2011 model assuming it has some bug fixes, improvements and additional features.. Correct me if I am wrong please.

My main question is that I've seen some Tucson/IX35 on the web has the keyless entry. I mean not only a remote key chain like my Honda Civic Si, but the proximity key feature (key in the pocket around the car and you can lock and unlock the doors). Also, some of them has the in dash start button. In the local dealer, I did not see this in my test Tucson ? I guess this may be the Canadian version does not come with this feature even with the highest mode (Limited with premium package). Can it be easily installed one as after market option ?

For the folks in US, do you have the proximity key and start button option there ? If the US version has this, I may just purchase one from US and import it to Canada instead !

For the power wise, do you guys feel this 4cyl engine powerful enough for highway driving ? Particularly when trying to pass other vehicles at 100KM range. BC has hills that go up and down. When I test drove it in Richmond (flat land no hills) I could not test that out.. However, I was kind of surprised this car is very peppy even with 5 people sitting in ( the sales lady came with my family) compared to the Mitshibushi Outback (6 cyl engine) with 4 of us in the vehicle we just test dove on the same day. My wife said, she feel more power from the Tucson than the Outback.

BTW, I have seen some web site showing another version of Tucson called "ix-onix". It looks outstanding ! Is it the future model only ? of it is the 2011 model in some countries ?