Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this topic has been beat to death but I'm new to it so please be patient.I just received a notice regarding my wife's 2013 Sonata. Apparently it is included in a class action suit with Hyundai Canada that was settled and now we can submit claims.Now we haven't had any issues with ours but we are eligible for a lifetime powertrain warranty upgrade.
My question is , is this legit ?

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
If the car had the KSDS update, just sit back and hope for the best, but the engine will have the Lifetime Warranty for the "debris" issue.
From settlement:
The warranty extension applies to Class Members who own covered vehicles with Knock Sensor Detection Software with a completed update.

If not certain as to whether the update was performed, check with the dealer.

Even with the warranty, these cars are a PIA as one never know when the engine will expire, but some experience high oil consumption before self
destruction. My advice is to keep all maintenance receipts and check the oil level frequently.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I'm sure this topic has been beat to death but I'm new to it so please be patient.I just received a notice regarding my wife's 2013 Sonata. Apparently it is included in a class action suit with Hyundai Canada that was settled and now we can submit claims.Now we haven't had any issues with ours but we are eligible for a lifetime powertrain warranty upgrade.
My question is , is this legit ?
If you would like I can run your VIN to clarify if there is any outstanding recalls.
I just need the last 8 digits,

·
Registered
16 Posts
^^^^^^^^
Would you be able to do the same for me? I never received a notice, but I did move last year so I don't know if anything was sent or not.

FH176783

·
Registered
9 Posts
is this a US Vehicle?
I'm Sorry I can't see information on U.S.A Vehicles, Only Canadian vehicles.