Hyundai Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just was under the hood and was looking at the air box...it looks like it is very difficult for air to flow from the hood opening into the engine. first goes through that 1 in x 8 in slot into a 1in x 5in thats like 6 inches long into a bigger box containing the air filter. after going thought that it makes a 90 degree bend through a what looks to be 2.5 in diameter tube and then makes another turn, drops down, then curves into the engine.

that is a lot of work for air. im lookin into just cuttin around that entire box to make a somewhat CAI. but my question is.....
what is this little part that jolts out from the part near the engine opening into the air tube?

Sensitive content, not recommended for those under 18 Show Content

·
Registered
141 Posts
I don't know what that part is.
Even though I have a college degree ,it's not in automotive engineering , so I don't feel qualified to judge Hyundai's air intake design let alone identify the part mentioned.
Good luck in cutting the air box out and while your at it you might as well cut up your warranty book.

·
Registered
4,471 Posts
QUOTE (XxSuperGmaN25xX @ Nov 11 2010, 01:48 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=370891
I just was under the hood and was looking at the air box...it looks like it is very difficult for air to flow from the hood opening into the engine. first goes through that 1 in x 8 in slot into a 1in x 5in thats like 6 inches long into a bigger box containing the air filter. after going thought that it makes a 90 degree bend through a what looks to be 2.5 in diameter tube and then makes another turn, drops down, then curves into the engine.

that is a lot of work for air. im lookin into just cuttin around that entire box to make a somewhat CAI. but my question is.....
what is this little part that jolts out from the part near the engine opening into the air tube?