Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Forum,
just got T-boned yesterday. The rear passenger door is smashed in. car still drives. I am looking into repairs.
What is a reasonable cost estimate to replace and install a new door (assuming the damage is not more extensive than that)?
I also looked on craigslist and saw many Hyundai's being "parted out." If I bought something like that that I could attempt to put on myself, what would be a reasonable price?
Last question...how hard is it to install a door? I am a tech in a different industry so I have *some* knowledge of tools and how to use them, but dont do car repair.
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
Hi Forum,
just got T-boned yesterday. The rear passenger door is smashed in. car still drives. I am looking into repairs.
What is a reasonable cost estimate to replace and install a new door (assuming the damage is not more extensive than that)?
I also looked on craigslist and saw many Hyundai's being "parted out." If I bought something like that that I could attempt to put on myself, what would be a reasonable price?
Last question...how hard is it to install a door? I am a tech in a different industry so I have *some* knowledge of tools and how to use them, but dont do car repair.
Thanks!
I think I'd let a collision repair shop look at it, the unibody frame could be tweaked, I don't think it takes much of a whack to put the frame out of alignment. Isn't there any insurance to make a claim for any needed repair? Anyway, I don't think hanging a new door would be too hard, providing nothing is bent, just a little fiddley(sp) to get it aligned. Let us know how it comes out, whatever the resolution. cheers.

·
6,836 Posts
Frankie, that sucks! IDK if you're in the Portland area, but there are some decent scrap yards around; I sold one of my old rides to one of them for parts one time. I'm sure you'd have no trouble finding Elantra parts.