Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone I am new at the amps and subs thing. I own a 2007 Hyundai Accent Hatchback and I am trying to figure out how to get the wire from the battery to inside the car. I can't seem to find a spot or I am just not looking in the correct place. I have heard of people drilling into the firewall but I really don't want to do that. Any help to this situation would be amazing! Thanks!

·
Registered
17 Posts
Well I havent seen a MC Accent. But a common routing spot is the rubber grommet the speedo cable goes through. If its too thick for that, you will probably have better luck routing under the car, dropping the gas tank and putting a hole above the gas tank, under the rear seat. And a rubber grommet to prevent damage to wire, and to keep moisture out. Dont forget to fuse it properly and to leave the fuse out until all wiring is done.

Someone else more familiar with the car may know a better through the cab route, most of the trim on mine does not have a lot of room to hide wire. Basically if it fits with the speedo cable, it can hide in the trim.

·
1,565 Posts
Drilling into the firewall is no big deal. Behind the steering column is even a metal plug waiting to be drilled out. YOU WILL NEED A GROMMET (unless you are keen on electrical shock and buying new amps). once inside, the best way is to run it under the door sill and behind the rear panels, although you could also run it under the center console and under the carpet, but you'll run into ugliness once you hit the back seats. Your other option is to run it through behind the fender, but if there's not a hole to get in the cabin already, you're still going to have to drill. one other option is under the car. You won't have to drop the gas tank, you can just drill a hole in the spare tire well, although my personal preference is to not have the cable under the car where anything can hit it (again, that's just my preference).