Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about straight piping my accent hatchback and getting a cai with it and after getting a tuning for it. look at a 3inch straight, i'm not an expert on it, but what kinda power gains would I see after the tuning with all of that?

·
Registered
176 Posts
I would go no bigger then 2.5 piping. If you went with a header and 2.5 back you might get a 5-10 hp gain, with a custom tune and the exhaust/cai you might see 25-30 hp gain.

·
Registered
32 Posts
It's only a 1.6L, 3'' exhaust line is way too much. With a good CAI and ECU tune (some will be availaible or are already) you could expect a gain of 20HP-25HP. 160HP on flywheel is the maximum you can expect IMO maybe a little bit more, because it's not a Highrev engine (Stroke is too long).

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It's only a 1.6L, 3'' exhaust line is way too much. With a good CAI and ECU tune (some will be availaible or are already) you could expect a gain of 20HP-25HP. 160HP on flywheel is the maximum you can expect IMO maybe a little bit more, because it's not a Highrev engine (Stroke is too long).
I found some kspec and shark racing headers for my engine, not sure of the difference between them, still looking for a highflow exhaust. I'm gonna go with 2.5" piping I think

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
High flow cat converter I mean sorry

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
43 Posts
i would go with the kspec. 4-2-1 headers provide more mid range power. the shark racing is 4-1 which would put you power band at high rpm.

im basing this info off of dyno proven header test on a scion xb 1.6. cant speak for certain on the accent

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
i would go with the kspec. 4-2-1 headers provide more mid range power. the shark racing is 4-1 which would put you power band at high rpm.