Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After looking at many different posts I am yet to find my problem mentioned. My 2002 XG350L 5sp automatic speedo jumps around. Seems to stay steady at slower speeds but stops working all together past about 25MPH. Any thoughts? I am wondering if it is run by a cable and tranny gear (mechanical) or if it it run by electronic sensors off tranny or at the wheels? Where would I find the sensors and any help on best way to check and replace? Thanx for any help as I am new to this car.

·
Registered
12,164 Posts
The speed sensor is usually mounted on top of the gearbox right back at the engine bay bulkhead. It's an electromechanical sensor with a mechanical plastic drive gear inside the gearbox and an electric pulse generator. It's not unheard of for the plastic gear to get stripped/damaged which could cause the output signal to become erratic.

This is a 4 speed box but I'm sure you're 5 speed will be similar.....

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The speed sensor is usually mounted on top of the gearbox right back at the engine bay bulkhead. It's an electromechanical sensor with a mechanical plastic drive gear inside the gearbox and an electric pulse generator. It's not unheard of for the plastic gear to get stripped/damaged which could cause the output signal to become erratic.

This is a 4 speed box but I'm sure you're 5 speed will be similar.....
View attachment 441186
Thank you very much AUTOSPARK. I just acquired this car and I appreciate your quick response. So is it back at the firewall just above the starter? Is the gearing determined by tire size? or by transmission? or other? As I am trying to keep this reasonable price wise, what (besides Hyundai factory) is your choice for the best OEM spec. parts house available to US market?

·
Registered
12,164 Posts
It's back at the firewall, but I have no idea where the starter is.