Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm a Sonata newb here. I recently bought my first car, and I've been driving it for about 1000km so far.

The car's average consumption in the city, has been 16.5 Liters per 100 km (14.26 MPG), which is way more than what was posted (11.5 liters per 100km).

I have been using only premium gas (91 octane), and the current tank I actually used 94 Octane, with the tactrol additive (I don't have the MPG for 94 octane yet).

I'm wondering if there are other 2006 Sonata GLv6 who could share their own MPG or L/100km

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,463 Posts
First off, you are wasting your money on premium gas - one of the pluses of the Sonata is that it uses regular gas with no complaints at all.

Gas mileage? In English units which the U.S. is still so fond of, the least I've ever gotten is around 16 or 17 mpg for local driving. And that was this past summer with plenty of A/C usage (which I think lowers mpg somewhat, although current opinion is that it doesn't).

By local driving, I'm talking about no long trips - just suburban type driving. If you were driving exclusively in a big city, I could see any V6 dropping to 14 or 15 mpg, simply because of all the waiting around at lights, etc.

Take a trip out of the city - a day trip somewhere - and see what sort of mpg your getting.

·
Registered
97 Posts
I only get about 22 or 23 mpg in my I4 Sonata, and I don't let the rpms get above 2000. I don't do any freeway driving at all though. Hope that helps a bit since you would think the I4 would be higher too.

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
QUOTE (Camden @ Oct 26 2010, 08:37 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=366390
I only get about 22 or 23 mpg in my I4 Sonata, and I don't let the rpms get above 2000. I don't do any freeway driving at all though. Hope that helps a bit since you would think the I4 would be higher too.