Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a newbie on the forum, but I'm hoping someone can give a tip on how to remove headlights. I have followed owners manual for my '08 Sante Fe Ltd on removing the two screws on top and retaining nut on back of light and unpluging the wire harness but the---- thing doesn't want to slide out. Is there a clip or screw that I am overlooking? I have watched the video on the Sonata. It feels tight on the tapered side(turn signal). I afraid of muscling it too much because there is so much plastic. Any advice or tips?
Thks

·
Registered
17,552 Posts
Yep.. they do pull out, but you gots to wiggle and pull, and I think the lamp snags the grill (inside portion of lamp housing).

CAREFULLY use large screwdriver to help pull the housing out around the plastic panel/bumper cover.. BE CAREFULL...

They pop right back in easier than they come out.

·
Registered
68 Posts
What I noticed was that the headlight unit was stuck to the paintwork, and needed to break the bond.
Obviously with mass production, the unit is added within hours of painting, and so the paintwork was still soft.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Hi!

If you haven't already figured this out, I did this recently and found by removing the screw in the wheelarch that I could ease the headlight unit out much easier. If you look at the inside front lip of the arch, where the bumper meets the wing there is a screw that if you remove it, it allows you to pull the bumper away from the wing slightly and creates a bigger gap under the headlight unit. Then put masking tape (don't know what it's called overseas!) so you don't scratch the bumper removing the headlight. The clip holding in the light unit is strong and requires force. If you unplug all of the wires first, you won't then have the problem of precariously balancing the unit whilst trying to unplug them...hmm hindsight.

·
3,861 Posts
Hi!