Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a set of rims and tires from my mom's 05' ford 500. If i measured correctly they are 20 inch rims, but they really don't look that big.

I was under the impression that all 5 hole patterns are universal or most of them anyway.

My question is there anyway i can be sure they fit safely. Im not sure how all the measurements go, im kind of new to this whole rim and tire thing

·
Registered
932 Posts
Nope, all 5 hole patterns are not the same. Start googling bolt patterns.

·
Registered
550 Posts
It just so happens that the Sonata and Ford 500 share the same 5X114mm bolt pattern. So the bolts/holes will align, but that doesn't mean to the rim will fit correctly. You should confirm the rim's center hub measurement and the rim's offset. If the rim's center hole is larger than the Sonata's center hub, you can still make the rim work by purchasing centerhub rings. (Contact Tirerack). But, if the rim's center hole is smaller than the Sonata's center hub, it may not fit over the hub and therefore not really fit at all. Good luck.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you! Im probably going to take a tire over to Pep Boys after work n ask them if it will fit. If they do that will save me a lot of money! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
550 Posts
You wrote "tire." Do you intend the put the 20 inch rim and the current tire on your 2011 Sonata. That may complicate things. Your Sonata comes stock with a 17 inch rim and 215/55-17 tires. The Ford comes stock with a 17 inch rim and 215-60-17 tires. The tires on the Ford are bigger. And by bigger, I don't mean wider, I mean taller. They have a larger diameter. The next question is what tires are currently on your 20 inch rims? Do you know? The wheel/tire combo MAY be too big for the Sonata and potentially rub. Definitely get a tire expert to help.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #6