Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never been so to speak a "car guy" and come from a family that knows very little about cars. I'm just learning everything as I go and want to keep my Elantra in top notch condition. I've done the reg. service appts. at the dealership is there any other maintenance I should be doing that they may not? (Expecting Nick to chime in here lol)

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4,083 Posts
Make sure you check all fluids once a week as well as tire pressure. Don’t forget to check the spare tire air pressure once a month, if provided.

·
Registered
3,799 Posts
Received a stack of books with this thing, glove compartment is not large enough to hold all of these. Somewhere in there is a brochure, little fold out to record your maintenance and for each mileage, tell you what should be done. Put that in a zip lock bag along with the vehicle registration, and my insurance ID papers.

Chapers 7 and 8 in your owners manual covers maintenance in a little more detail, tell you to check your brakes, but don't tell you how and nothing about how to lubricate them, this they need constantly. Or to spray your suspension joints with silicon. should do a walk around to make sure all of your running lights are working. Nothing about adding splash shields, mud flaps, if you don't will get stone chips on your doors and rear bumper, put this in the common sense class. Or adding silicon to all of your light sockets, if you don't will never get them off, they bake on. Or using anti-seize on your wheel hubs and lug nuts, won't be able to remove your wheel or rotor if you don't.

Stuff like this you pick up over the years, even keeping your spark plugs clean, and the vane in your throttle body, that can stick.

·
Registered
3,799 Posts
Automatic or manual? What is your actual engine oil change interval (how many kms between oil changes)?