Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I recently purdhsed a 2006 sonata gls, and love it , a coupe months ago I took it to a jiffylube for a/c servicewhere they drained and recharged it
that great for about 6 weeks ( it sat for most of that time as I am an OTR Driver) latley when I drive the ac doesnt seem to be doing the job and asume there must be a leak soimewhere. I plan on going to the local auto parts house and buying some more refridgerant with a sealer and doing it myself, my question is when I do it do I connect to the high line or the low line to recharge it? sure I could gfo back to jiffylube and pay another $150.00 but that really isnt feasible right now

·
Registered
4,851 Posts
Sounds like you got a leak, probably the compressor seal. DO NOT CONNECT TO HIGH SIDE! YOU COULD KILL YOURSELF. LOW SIDE IS SUCTION FOR NEW FREON. Get a can from Walmart with the gauge on it.

Are you still under warranty? You should have 5 yr/60K mile warranty on that if you're the original owner. It leaks because a component has failed.

·
Registered
17,552 Posts
DO NOT ADD goofy stuff to the system... the only allowed "stop-leak" is the actual repair of a leak if it has a leak...

R-134 and correct oil is all you should ever use in any A/C system

Reactions: Jpulido09

·
Premium Member
2021 Santa Fe Limited 2.5T
354 Posts
QUOTE (jsinton @ Aug 9 2010, 09:10 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=348304
You should have 5 yr/60K mile warranty on that if you're the original owner.
Unless I missed something, the 5/60k warranty goes with the car regardless of the owner(s). Only the 10 yr/100k is to the original owner.

·
Registered
448 Posts
If you go to the website of any of the cheaper DIY refrigerant substitutes, you'll find that the real directions include a full cleanout/vacuum of what's in the system now and then you can add the replacement refrigerant. If you mix them, you'll screw up your AC system.