Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up my 2011 Sonata GLS 2 weeks ago and I love it. However, the first time I tried to put gas in it, I really couldn't. I put the nozzle in and started pumping fuel, but it would only pump for about 5 seconds and then click off like the tank was full. I kept trying and trying but it just wouldn't keep the flow going. I've been pumping my own gas for over 20 years so I know how it's done. I made sure the nozzle is making a good seal, I even tried angling it different ways but it kept clicking off. So after about 10 minutes I was able to pump about 3 gallons in my car which was fine to get me to work.

At first I dismissed it as it must have been a defective nozzle or pump station. I can live with that. Well, today I had to get gas again (cant get very far when you can only pump 3 gallons at a time). Sure enough I had the same problem. I was at a different gas station in a different town and had the same behavior. The oly thing that was the same is that both gas stations were HESS gas stations. Who knows maybe they have some weird nozzles. But then I thought maybe it's a design flaw in the Sonata such as the gas filler tube being too narrow, or maybe makes a sharp bend and fills up too fast tricking the nozzle into thinking the tank is full.

However, I searched this forum as well as the internet and have not seen anyone else with this problem. Next time I fill up I will try a station besides HESS and report back. But if anyone else has this problem, I would love to know.

Thanks
Joe

·
Banned
630 Posts
1) you first problem is using HESS gas...ewww
2) use Top Tier fuels like Shell or Chevron
3) I had this issue in my Buick Riviera constantly....if I pulled the nozzle out a bit and didnt hold the nozzle lever all the way up/in, it would work just fine

·
Banned
630 Posts
Chevron is THE BEST gas in the US, PERIOD!