Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there everyone. I'll just get straight to the point.

I recently purchased a 2017 GT, but it's and automatic. :(

I didn't have a choice as I am trying to build my credit and I needed something reliable and the Hyundai was my first choice from what I was given.

Now my question is if anyone knows how difficult/how much it would cost to put in a manual transmission as I am going to have this car for awhile and I want to enjoy it. I originally drove a 99' Honda Accord that was a 5 speed manual and it was and is a blast (GF drives it now). So I'm looking into getting this GT a manual transmission down the road.

I don't know anything about this car so I'm taking baby steps along with learning about cars anyways, so bare with me here I'm a noob.

I also plan on getting a turbo'd motor or putting one into it, but again I have no knowledge of the engine and if one can even be installed into it.

Sorry if I sound crazy these are just questions I have and what better place than to ask EVERYONE else that has Elantra GT's.

Thanks in advance guys, any help means a lot!:liebe011:

·
Registered
114 Posts
I once took an automatic 89 civic wagon and swapped a bigger motor with a manual trans. Everything for that swap was readily available at local junkyards plus there was more than enough info online from others who have done similar projects. It ended up being fairly easy but very time consuming. Problem with swapping the trans in an egt is not many have tried before you if any. Being a newer vehicle parts won't be as easy to find cheap either. I'm sure its doable but the question is at what cost?