Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2013 santa fe sport.i switched to synthetic and after 4500 km i got the red oil light. I called dealer they want to do an oil monitoring every 1000 km.i just drove a vacation trip 2000 km and i lost 500 ml oil.im afraid dealer will tell me that's normal.i can't find any information about how much oil i normal to lose. I have only 90000km.
There is no any oil leak, no smoke,nothing. Just wondering where my oil went?

·
Registered
17,552 Posts
I'm not good with metric measure,, but I want to say USA std seems to be 1qt to 1000 mile before it considered excess

·
Registered
6,903 Posts
I have a 2013 santa fe sport.i switched to synthetic and after 4500 km i got the red oil light. I called dealer they want to do an oil monitoring every 1000 km.i just drove a vacation trip 2000 km and i lost 500 ml oil.im afraid dealer will tell me that's normal.i can't find any information about how much oil i normal to lose. I have only 90000km.
There is no any oil leak, no smoke,nothing. Just wondering where my oil went?
That's not bad but not good either. Switch to back to non-syn and see what you get.

·
Registered
1,792 Posts
Assume that it was not using oil prior to the change to synthetic. Sometimes, not often, a switch to synthetic can casue oil consumption especially during that first oil change interval. Sometimes the consumption goes away after that first reaction to synthetic sometimes not. So, it appears that what the dealer stated to do is appropriate, monitor the situation and see what develops. As to what is normal, well, I do not think the dealer will consider your situation excessive. In addition they may want to throw some services at you that may not be necessary, especially so early in the game. IMO, give it more time, top off the oil and check it frequently and see what develops in the rest of this oil change and the next.

·
Registered
313 Posts