Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I change the oil and filter on my 2004 Elantra myself. Use 4.07 quarts of oil
(4 quarts, 2 ounces) and the proper Hyndai filter. The 4.07 is what the owners
manual specifies. After the oil change the dip stick always reads over full by about
a third of a quart! (I've been changing the oil in my cars since 1970. I'm sure I
am doing the job properly) Does anybody else see this in your car???

·
Registered
329 Posts
You've certianly got the spec right. When you change the filter you need to run the engine for a minute or so before checking the oil. That gives the filter a chance to fill up, which would be around a third of a quart.

It wouldn't do any harm to just put in 4 quarts then do your check and top up as needed.

Gord

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Originally posted by gordo@Oct 8 2004, 09:25 AM
You've certianly got the spec right. When you change the filter you need to run the engine for a minute or so before checking the oil. That gives the filter a chance to fill up, which would be around a third of a quart.

It wouldn't do any harm to just put in 4 quarts then do your check and top up as needed.

Gord
[snapback]1598[/snapback]​

Hi Gord............I've done what you suggested, still over full mark. The car is running fine,so I will proabably just leave it alone. Has it snowed yet where you
are in Canada?

Merel

·
Registered
329 Posts
Hi Merel - sometimes I wonder how accurate the factory specs are - I know that the 'O2 calls for a bit more oil - some slight change in engine configuration.

No snow for us - just lots of rain. Victoria is on the west coast (look for Vancouver and look left - we're on the southern tip of Vancouver Island) Our weather is a lot like Seatle's.