Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
683 Posts
This is a "How I did this" thread about the installation of the OEM/Aftermarket Fog Light Kit sold by sharkracing.com. Also in this thread I will show you how to replace either one or both of the multifunction switches located on the steering column.

First off, I am not a mechanic, nor do I work for Hyundai. This is not an official "How To" and should be as such. If you plan on using this as a guide you are doing so at your own risk. Also read the entire post and make sure you feel confident BEFORE you start. If you feel that you cannot complete the task on your own please take your vehicle to a dealer/local mechanic to have this done.

I will be doing this write up in 4 phases, please DO NOT comment until I have finished all 4 phases so this thread will flow naturally for those using it as a guide. Thanks

Tools required:
1 - standard length #2 philips
1 - "stubby" #2 philips
1 - standard "flat" screw driver
1 - T30 torx driver
1 - 10mm wrench and/or socket
1 - 21mm socket
1 - 1/2" socket extender
1 - 1/2" Torque wrench
electrical tape
zip ties
nippers/wire cutters
needle nose (optional)
channel locks

·
Registered
683 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Phase 1 = Fog light housing installation

Step 1:
Raise the front of the vehicle off the ground so that you can crawl underneath the front bumper. If you have a lift, USE IT! if you have ramps, USE THEM! Do not do what I did (see pic). I had no other options available to me, we have ramps but they are too steep to use on the 2012 Accent.

Step 2:
Remove the body 4 clips holding the wheel well covers to the bumper and the inner wheel well. There should be two attaching the well cover to the bumper.

And two in the inner wheel well forward of the tire. Once you remove all 8 (4 on each side) the well cover should pop loose and look like this.