Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The QT stations in Atlanta have added No Ethanol gas. I tried a tank. I was surprised to see the octane rating was 87.

I have now used regular, mid-grade, and premium. No Ethanol was the lowest MPG. Followed by regular, premium, and mid-grade.

I did similar tests with three 4 cy Camrys over the years. No No Ethanol of course, but mid-grade always was around 10% better.

·
Registered
1,800 Posts
Interesting, I have been using 100% gas for a couple of years now, (87 octane) as both of my vehicles get 3-4 mpg increase. The price is a break even for me, higher cost offset by the increased mpg but a further price differential will kill the 100% gas for me.

·
Registered
89 Posts
I've always received about a 6-10% increase in fuel economy when using ethanol free fuel, but it is typically more than 10% more expensive than comparable E10 fuel. A lot of stations around here have ethanol free 89 for boats, but it typically runs 15-20% more expensive than E10 89.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
In Atlanta the mid-grade costs 5 - 8 % more than regular.

I started using mid-grade when my 1989 Camry was pinging on a slight upgrade on the way to work.

So the cost vs mpg is roughly equal, but the performance is better.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Given a choice, I would prefer to use non-ethanol fuel. Your car will run "cooler" and you don't have to worry about the side effects of ethanol.

·
Registered
785 Posts
Ethanol free will technically give you at least a 3-5% boost in MPG as gasoline has a higher energy content by volume than ethanol.
Additionally, you will get zero mileage difference between using fuel of a different octane rating because octane rating has nothing to do with energy content, the energy content is the same for all three fuel grades.