Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been using shell 91 in my K5GT since I got it 8 months ago.
For me, it's not about fuel mileage but rather performance. The only way we can tell is if someone data logs while on 87 octane and then data logs with higher octane to see if there's timing being pulled or on lower octane.

Registered
2021 Phantom Black Sonata N-Line
I've done the same since I got my N-Line back in March. I know it's tuned to run on 87 and that's fine, but for me I prefer to run 91 in a turbo car. I've done this with my Sonata 2.0t, Santa Fe 2.0t, Genesis 3.3t, Elantra Sport, HHR SS, Eclipse GS-T and Juke Nismo RS. I know some will say it's a waste of money to run 91 in a car that's tuned for 87, but who cares, it's my money. Now, let me go put on my flame proof suit because I can feel the heat coming 馃ぃ

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Why would they specify "87 or higher"?
I'd say in a n/a car, going higher is pointless.
But in a modern turbo where ecu can adjust, why not. The question is, does 91 allow for timing advancement enough to warrant the price difference? If on 87 we can get 14.2 1/4 mile and on 91 or higher we can manage high 13s...its all worth it Imo.

Registered
2021 Sonata N Line