Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
[UPDATED TO ADD PICTURES]

Long story short, I scrapped my right rear side against a parking garage pillar and significantly dented the right rear door panel and right rear trunk panel (the one that runs above the right rear tire). They're dented enough that a simply buff and polish probably won't work - they aren't simply scratches, there is panel crumpling. Here are my options that I know of:

1. File insurance claim, pay $500 deductible, get a nasty bump in my insurance premiums.
2. Take it to a body shop and have them try to hammer, polish, and repaint the panels, though I'm not sure this is even technically possible given the damage severity.
3. Take it to a body shop to have them order replacement panels and install them.
4. Somehow order replacement panels on my own and install them myself.

I don't mind performing the labor, however I am far from a car mechanic hobbyist. I have dissassembled interior components successfully to install car audio equipment before but I've never worked with body panels. I also do not have a service manual for the car.

Question: Can you order panels in some way that will not include retail markup?
Question: How difficult is it to replace panels?

In addition to the damage I mentioned above, I also must have a scrapped a parking spot barrier / bumper, as my front right bumper shows scrape marks near the wheel well and it looks like at least one clip from the bumper has broken and the bumper is hanging loose on the right side. The scrape mark is hidden, so I don't care about that, but can I replace / fix the broken clip(s) or do something else to resecure the bumper (and avoid replacing that as well)?

Attachments

·
Registered
533 Posts
Unless you have other issues with your insurance, the premiums don't go up if you make one claim.

·
Registered
816 Posts
QUOTE (SeattleGuy @ Jun 22 2010, 03:33 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=335283