Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday, my BIL came over and helped me put a new axle in my SF because the tone ring was broken and had the ABS light lit on dash. The repair went well except for one small error and I need your opinion on the error. When we removed the old axle, we lost a little oil from the engine as it trickled out of the hole in the side of the trans. We collected it in a drip pan and my BIL added it back to the car. Unfortunately, he put it in the transmission dipstick tube instead of the engine! (He is a Saturday shade tree mechanic and forgot it was Tuesday). Anyway, I am not a mechanic at all so I don't know if I should change the trans oil or can I drive it to the dealer and have them do it? My BIL said he will change it if it is necessary. (Not sure if I want him to do it!)
It was about 1/2 quart or slightly more, of oil that he put in the trans.

The SF is a 2002 w/2.7 L engine, 2WD auto trans. with 66,000 miles on it.

I should have had the dealer do the job but I couldn't afford the $500 bill. I am retired and on SS and those kinds of bills are hard to pay.

Any answers are appreciated.

Jim

·
Registered
413 Posts
get it changed ........... NOW

Auto trans uses hydraulic fluid that is designed to allow friction to exist between the internal clutches and belts that allow an automatic transmission to work. Engine oil is more general, it has the potential to lubricate too well, causing those clutches and belts to slip, which will cause immense wear and destroy the transmission.

·
Registered
320 Posts
How did engine oil come out during this replacement? Unless you have a Duramax, or I am having a moment, I don't understand how motor oil came out. What came out was transmission oil.

·
Registered
3,449 Posts
How did engine oil come out during this replacement? Unless you have a Duramax, or I am having a moment, I don't understand how motor oil came out.