Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I've been fighting with my 05 sonata GLS (2.7Ltr V6 atx) having lean issues on both banks. Well when my fiance bought the car it was in parts and she payed a shop to put it back "properly." Well I am no mechanic by no means just learning how to fix things on my own. But I did the intake gaskets (upper and lower plenum) and noticed quite a few odd things.

First the gaskets bot were put on with some kind of RTV sealent *Not gasket maker* and that was a pain to remove. Second the whole inside of the upper and lower plenum was black as coal and coated in a layer of oil. Don't know if that is normal or not but it seems unusual to be that heavaly coated. I clean all that the best I could with some Berrymans B-12 Chemtool. Now the spark plugs were the worst of it all. I was suprised the engine ran at all.

now on to my current issue.