Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m hunting after my ‘03 Honda started gushing oil (235k) and I found a used 2014 Hyundai Accent GLS 6 Manual with 65K miles, clean Car Fax, one owner (traded in for a Veloster). I’ve no experience with Hyundai’s, only the Honda and a Toyota (‘98 Camry, about 280k).

I’m worried about getting it because of how much I drive. I travel, monthly, about 1,700 miles (travel between two/three states [600 round trip once per month, 160 round trip twice per month], commute to work, and part time job travel).

I want a car that’s going to last me, but I’m unable to determine if this model/year will last me 200k+ as the cars I’ve had before.

If anyone has advice or comments please let me know. I really enjoyed test driving the car, but the longevity and reliability is worrisome and my biggest concern.

·
Registered
2013 Hyundai Accent GS automatic
63 Posts
I got my car used at 70k miles. I drive 62 miles one day to work 5 days a week. So over 600 miles or 32,000 miles a year approx. My car is just now BARELY giving me trouble. No check engine light anymore. (sitting at 168k)

I'd say go for it if it was well maintained. Mine was a fleet vehicle once upon a time and had been maintained per hyundai recommended intervals since it was new.

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk

·
Registered
63 Posts
Also fwiw this car is pretty easy to maintain. They didn't make it so difficult that you can't fix it yourself. Really it's pretty much like Toyota or Honda. Good no nonsense transportation.

·
Registered
940 Posts
I’m worried about getting it because of how much I drive. I travel, monthly, about 1,700 miles (travel between two/three states [600 round trip once per month, 160 round trip twice per month], commute to work, and part time job travel).

I want a car that’s going to last me, but I’m unable to determine if this model/year will last me 200k+ as the cars I’ve had before.