Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, it's my first time here as a new Hyundai owner. Few weeks ago I purchased a brand new Sonata 2.0 equipped with a CNG kit installed by Hyundai itself.
I expected a fuel mileage (burning regular gasoline) of about 28-30 MPG since I usually drive on flat land and out of town but I can't get better than 19 driving carefully.
I'll have the car checked but today I literally stopped a guy with the same car on the road and had a look at his trip computer, he was performing worse than me...?!
Do you guys think that the 2.0 engine is under performing for this car? It has 144 Kw/6000 compared to 161 of the 2.4 while torque is 185 to 219 N.m./4500. Running on natural gas I don't spend that much but still I'm disappointed of such a bad fuel economy.

·
Registered
50 Posts
You mention CNG and RUG. Which are your fuel mileage numbers based on?

Assuming RUG, many of the members here are based in the USA and only have experience with our spec engines. Maybe another 2.0 owner will be able to chime in on your motor. My 3.3 V6 usually returns 23 mpg with an average speed of less than 30 mph, meaning most of my driving is urban. When I get on the highway I average 29-30 mpg, up to max 33 mpg (all in US gallons, not Imperial), doing 70 mph at elevation (roughly 4,500 feet). I'd be awfully disappointed with 19 mpg on a 4 cylinder cruising on flat roads. If the vehicle is brand new then you are still in break-in, but still, I wouldn't expect a major leap in mileage following break-in. Have you checked tire inflation? Brake pad dragging?

-Ty

·
Registered
20 Posts
I've a 2.0 Petrol Sonata NF for about 20 months now, the average fuel consumption has been around 22-24 mpg (~ 9.5 - 10.5 l / 100km) ever since I got my car early last year. My average speed per the trip computer is just ~ 30 km/j.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys,