Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read the other posts on Winter tires for the Sonata but I am having trouble applying it to my budget and vehicle. I have a 2011 SE with the 18" wheels. I only just got the car so I have no experience with it in the snow (Northeast Ohio) but my gut tells me the stock 225/45R18 tires are not ideal.

My plan was to find wheels from an older Sonata (or other Hyundai model) at the junk yard and mount some decent winter tires. Cost is an issue for me. I am looking for a recommendation on matching a set of older Hyundai wheels and tire sizes that would fit my 2011 SE and be close enough for the speedometer. Like the other posts, I am willing to forgo the TPMS for the winter.

I know I could go to Tire Rack and buy their recommended wheel/combo option for about $612 but that leaves the speedometer way off (calculated based on tire circumference). It is also way too much money for me to spend. I understand $400 in winter tires but if I can go from $220 for new wheels down to under $100 at an "auto recycler", I would definitely try that route.

·
Registered
1,412 Posts
I did a quickie search on Tirerack.com and the Gen4 Sonatas runs the same bolt pattern and offset. You can check other previous models, and even other makes and models of cars with the same methodology. You just shop for wheels and search for whatever car you suspect might share the bolt pattern and offset, and then check the results. you want 5x114.3 and about a 46-48 offset. The center bore might be an issue but if you are at a junkyard with your metric ruler or measuring tape, you can just make sure you are at at least 67.1mm or bigger. Hubcentric would be nice but in a pinch, boltcentric will work.

·
Registered
1,133 Posts