Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This afternoon my instruments (speedo, Odo, Tach, fuel, and temp) stopped working. At first they were stuck in the position where they stopped. Got home and found a fuse labeled "cluster." Pulled and replaced it and all that happened was that the needles dropped to zero when I started engine again. Anybody had any experience with this? Is there another fuse besides the one labeled "Cluster" in the box near the driver door?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well, after a visit to the dealer today, I am out $99 and speedo etc is working again, but with no guarantee it will continue. They pulled the cluster, banged on it, and it started working again. If it stops again, advice is to bang on the dash. If it does not start up again, new cluster is $800. Anyone know where I can get a used one cheap? Must be easier to remove than I thought. They had it out and back in place in less than two hours. Dealer claims the computer does not store the actual mileage if the odo display stops working. My son's 95 Volvo does that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,204 Posts
QUOTE
Anyone know where I can get a used one cheap?
ebay and patience :grin:

I can walk you thru the procedure to remove the instrument cluster.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Instruments stopped working again this week on the road. Banged on the dash and they started again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Well the instruments stopped again and banging on the dash did not bring them back. Looks like I need to get a used replacement.

Mine is 06 LX V6. Trying to verify compatibility. Seems I remember that some 06's did not have the same trip computer functions as the LX, and I believe some of the newer models with TPMS might not be compatible. Anyone able to verify how careful I need to be regarding compatibility.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Well, just knocked 15000 miles off what my odometer says. got used cluster for $49 plu $15 shipping. Took less than hour to replace.

When I shook old cluster, something rattled inside.

How to:

disconnect battery.

remove trim piece about 1 by 8 inches to the left below cluster. Loosen similar trim piece that stretches across dash to the right.

remove trim piece just below cluster that contains the trip odometer buttons. Unplug connect to those buttons.

remove two screws at bottom of cluster.

pull cluster towards you enough to reach behind and unplug three connectors.

Reverse to install.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
I just noticed a couple weeks ago that my instrument cluster contains an indicator light for TPMS, although 2006 Sonatas sold in the USA did not include the tire pressure monitoring feature. Of course, the light never illuminates since my car doesn't have the TPMS module & sensors. Now I'm starting to wonder if somebody replaced the cluster before I bought the car.

My car was built at the Alabama plant in Nov. 2005. For those of you who own US-built 2006 Sonatas, have you noticed if your instrument cluster contains the TPMS indicator light? In order to see it, you'd probably have to have sunlight hitting it directly, or shine a flashlight on it since it doesn't illuminate.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
QUOTE (aqua33V6 @ Dec 18 2010, 01:34 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=381201
I just noticed a couple weeks ago that my instrument cluster contains an indicator light for TPMS, although 2006 Sonatas sold in the USA did not include the tire pressure monitoring feature. Of course, the light never illuminates since my car doesn't have the TPMS module & sensors. Now I'm starting to wonder if somebody replaced the cluster before I bought the car.

My car was built at the Alabama plant in Nov. 2005. For those of you who own US-built 2006 Sonatas, have you noticed if your instrument cluster contains the TPMS indicator light? In order to see it, you'd probably have to have sunlight hitting it directly, or shine a flashlight on it since it doesn't illuminate.
I can confirm that both the cluster I took out of my 2006 and the one I put in that came from a 2006 both have the TPMS symbol and letters TPMS on them
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top