Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never owned a nice car before, always hand me downs. I finally got fed up with my crappy car and went and bought an Elantra yesterday. Since I've never owned a nice car, I dont really know how to take care of them beyond getting the oil and filters changed appropriately. How do I keep the paint nice, the engine running well, etc? I'm 25 and should know this stuff but I don't and I need yalls help.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Regular washes with a good automotive wash. I use Meguire's. Not dish detergent or anything. I wax mine twice a year. That should pretty much do it on paint. Depends on how crazy you want to get. I vacuum my car once a week, but I work in a garage and it's right there. Be careful as to which products you use on your dash, as some will attract uv rays and prematurely wear out the material and cause it to crack. Other than that, just follow the maintenance schedule you should of received with your vehicle and you'll be a-ok. Enjoy your new car!

·
Registered
126 Posts
Also, check your air pressures one a week. Even if the light isn't ok. Keeping them properly inflated will increase their life as well as your fuel mileage and peace of mind. The proper air pressure is on a sticker in the jam of your driver front door, as well as in the owners manual. And actually read the owners manual. I work at a Hyundai dealership and I still read the manual when I got my Elantra

·
Registered
259 Posts
I think the following advice goes for any new car.

#1 thing: Crack open that Owner's Manual.