Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like the title says, I am a Toyota Master Diagnostic Technician. In 2015, I got an unbeatable lease on a 2016 Corolla S for 0 down and $99 a month for 24 months. The car has been great from day one. 22,000 miles with zero problems. So why didn't I buy it or buy a 2018 Corolla?

If I had purchased the Corolla, it would have cost me almost $16,000. We have similar cars on the used car lot for $15,000, so that didn't make sense. So now I needed to go car shopping.

I used the 2018 Corolla as my benchmark for value in a car. It comes with the Toyota Safety Sense, power windows/locks/fob, and bluetooth standard. I do my own maintenance (obviously), so the 2 years free maintenance is not that big a deal to me. They are reasonable with a cost of $22,000 "loaded". Loaded is in quotes because there are a lot of things that are available on other cars that are dealer installed accessories (remote start) or just not available on the Corolla (Android Auto).

Next, I looked at the Honda Civic. It is a bit more expensive for a base model, but can be optioned out very nice for a good price. Honda makes a quality product, a wonderful engine, and has great resale. I could get a loaded Civic Touring for $24,500 (and promotional .9% financing). My major problems with the Civic was the goofy camera based blind spot monitor and no built in garage door opener. I am not a huge fan of the styling.