Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I recently had my tires changed, and the mechanic shop suggested replacing the front brake pads and rotors. They are quoting $300 parts and another $220 labor (incl. tax where applicable). I can't seem to find many posts for how much people paid for brake work on 2011+ Sonata.

I know how much it would cost DIY through the parts catalogs, but for those that changed their front brakes/rotors at a shop or dealer:

1. How much was it?

2. Dealer or independent place?

3. Is this a sports suspension 2011+ or non-sport? (E.g. SE or Limited 2.0T trims)

The car only has about 34k on it, I bought it with 30k about 11 months ago (I was travelling over the summer so didn't drive it for about 4 months). Those are almost all city miles since I bought it.. so lots of stopping. However, dealer measured 5mm remaining on the fronts a couple months back. This is my first time at this new mechanic, but they also seem pretty reputable (long customer base, good yelp/google reviews saying they are very competent if a steep with price, A+ on BBB, etc...). They are also suggesting $84 for a brake fluid flush, but that seems about average from what I can find.

·
Registered
699 Posts
Pads and rotor replacements service at 34K sounds a bit premature to me. I would suggest checking with a couple other auto repair places on the price and the need. Unless the rotors are warped its hard to believe they need replaced. Its pays to check around. Price is not that much out of line. Let us know what you determine. Thanks.

·
Registered
920 Posts
Pads and rotor replacements service at 34K sounds a bit premature to me. I would suggest checking with a couple other auto repair places on the price and the need. Unless the rotors are warped its hard to believe they need replaced. Its pays to check around. Price is not that much out of line. Let us know what you determine. Thanks.