Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to everyone. CrazyRoadWarrior here. If you are wondering why the name. Let me it explain.

Here is my story:

I am a systems engineer on a project that is coming to an end. One day, a company called me out of the blue and offered me a job making 25% more then I am making now. Downside, it's in the Columbia SC area. I live in Charleston SC. The drive is 115 miles one way. My new job is not only a pay increase but also a promotion. Talked it over with the wife and decided to take the job. I thought about renting an apt, but I like sleeping in my own bed and being with my family. So, commuting was my only option.

Now, what car to get. I required 3 can't live without options: Manual Transmission, AC, and Cruise control. I looked at Honda, Toyota, Nissan, and Hyundai. Well, as you tell by my post here, the Hyundai won. So this past Tuesday, I picked up my Beautiful 2013 Hyundai Elantra GLS. I tried to post a pic, but I have to be a member for 7 days. Oh well, it is a dark grey color.

So, I'll be driving 1115 a week. I will try to give updates on how things go like MPG, handling, etc.

Also, if there is anything I should be aware of, please let me know. I start my new job Dec 3rd. I know that is weird but I have to do an exit interview on Dec 2nd. All the big whigs are out on vacation due to Thanksgiving.

So far, I am LOVING IT!! Peppy engine. My only complaint is the clutch. Very Very touchy. It reminds me of a sport type clutch. I'll get used to it. I am used to driving Jeeps.

The only added stuff I got when I bought it was upgrading to the 10yr/100k mile bumper to bumper. Not sure if that was a mistake, but it included a rental for any warranty repairs. So if I am down a car, they will provide one for me to drive a ton of miles on. :D

If there is anything I should be concerned with or should look for, just let me know. Should be an interesting adventure. :cool:

·