Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I volunteered to do maintenance on an '07 Accent with auto transmission for an older lady on a fixed income from our church. The car has about 30,000 miles on it.

I have 15+ years of shade tree mechanic experience but no Hyundai specific experience but I figured I can handle this without too much trouble.

Anyway, she wants to have the transmission fluid, coolant and oil changed. I won't have a chance to see the owner's manual until I pick it up to do the work on Wednesday so I was hoping someone could give me the following information:
-Motor oil weight and capacity
-Transmission fluid spec and capacity
-Coolant type and capacity

I've got experience performing all of these tasks so I'm familiar with the basics. Is there anything unique about these vehicles relative to these maintenance items?

Does the transmission pan have a plug? Is it just a simple drain and refill at 30k as it would be on a Honda or is it a drop the pan, replace the filter(s) and gasket, etc.

Other than the obvious things to take a quick look at (brakes, fluid levels, etc.) is there anything in particular that I should also consider inspecting/changing at this mileage.

Thanks,
Jeff

·
Registered
4,624 Posts
5W or 10W30 (personally, I don't believe in putting in the 5W20 recommended on the oil cap on the engine).

Tranny fluid MUST be SP-III or better. ABSOLUTELY DO NOT USE DEXRON. ONLY use SP-III (it costs a LOT at the dealer, but that's really your only option. Any Hyundai or Mitsubishi dealer).

·
Registered
265 Posts
Here are the specs as per factory manual

LUBRICANTS
RECOMMENDED LUBRICANTS

Parts
OIL & GREASE STANDARD

Engine Oil
API SL(SJ) or ABOVE,
ILSAC GF-3 and ABOVE

Manual transaxle
GENUINE PART MTF 75W/85 (API GL - 4)

Automatic transaxle
DIAMOND ATF SP-III, SK ATF SP-III

Brake
DOT 3, DOT 4 or equivalent

Coolant
Ethlyene glycol base for aluminium radiator

Coolant