Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, it's that time of the year again when we dust off the A/C and see what happens.

This baby blows warm air below 40 mph and blows very cold over.

On my model -2006 Elantra - I've tried troubleshooting the following:

Pressure is good in system.
Both condenser fans (the ones sitting in front of the radiator) are functional.

So I'm a newbie good with tools so if someone can help me much appreciated.

I've searched all over the Internet to find an actual diagram of *where* is the A/C compressor. So this is the only way I can explain it. Imagine you have x-ray vision and you are standing in front of the front passenger side tire x-raying into the car. I see what look like three generator-style contraptions. One around 1 o'clock another around 4 o'clock and another around 7 o'clock. I think it's the 7 o'clock one.

With the a/c on and engine running the belt is turning but it looks like the clutch is not engaging.

What are the specific troubleshooting tests I can do without first bringing it to a dealer?

Please, if you want me to check a fuse or relay, kindly tell me *where* in the engine compartment these are as I cannot find any diagrams of the internals of this system. I do know where the fuse box is and can read that diagram.

Thanks so much. (I really am good with tools - knowledge not so much).

·
Registered
2007 Honda CRV
4,582 Posts
Here are a couple of videos that show how to test A/C
you can look at other videos which may help you
as for diagrams, usually @wongpfh has diagrams
may be if you ask him??

·
Registered
17,552 Posts
That old of chassis, likely low enough charge to fail allowing PCM to fire the A/C relay..

A/C fuse for compressor clutch in engine room box good ?

Field coil open - short - high resistance ??

Verify charge,, best to recover anythiing and see what weight of refrigerant in system,, need rough 85-100 PSI to allow system to operate

·