Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
I am a university student with a lot of elbow grease and very little money.

I own a 2001 Accent, 1.5 liter standard transmission.

About 2 weeks ago I woke up to find that my car wouldnt start, wasnt able to start with a boost, but was able to start with a push! (so i assumed the starter was bad, I never investigated it though)

Yesterday i go a push and parked the car after some errands, and it wouldnt start once again, even with a push this time.

Once i got to a comfortable speed and let the clutch out, the car did not start, and simply just made a clunking sound.

My mechanic says it may be the timing belt, but when i took the cover off the top part of the belt seemed okay...

Im stuck!! any help at all would be much appreciated !! ^_^

·
Registered
669 Posts
The mechanic may still be right.

Do this Google Image search:
"timing belt teeth stripped"

It can be very hard to spot the damaged sections.

How many miles on the car?
Is it possible that the belt has never been replaced?

I'm not saying that you did have a belt failure but it is a possibility.

Jim

·
Registered
3,151 Posts
the fact that you got it started the first time makes me doubt the timing belt.

if it is the timing belt you should hear the starter try to turn the engine over and fail to do so. but it sounds like you're getting nothing?

if you're getting the infamous loud click when you turn the key and nothing from the starter at all, that's the starter motor. if no click, that's the solenoid.

another thought is the clutch neutral start switch. your foot has to be on the clutch to start....as sensed by a switch under the clutch pedal. if its failed, the car thinks the clutch is still engaged. easy test with a multimeter.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the fact that you got it started the first time makes me doubt the timing belt.