Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well, my 2011 Elantra & the water heater reside at home within a few feet of each other…AND…they both gave up on me the same night. So, I suppose I could’ve posted this on the “…in and around my Elantra” thread.

Wednesday night was eventful for stuff breaking. Since I fix things for a living, I despise having to fix my own stuff when I get home. I break out in a cold sweat if I see a screwdriver on my day off. But since I fix most anything, it's inevitable. That's why I prefer anything maintenance FREE!

So on Wednesday night, my daughter had to lead me home in her car when I got off at 11:30 since my Elantra was no longer road-worthy. When I GOT home, I then discovered that I had a flood of water covering the garage floor from my water heater. I finally got around to fixing both problems today.

The water heater was familiar territory for me. I can do that blindfolded. I replaced my twenty-two year old 40 gl gas heater with a scratch ‘n dent 240v electric equivalent. Not too bad for 150 bucks. Just need to get me an old fashioned “pie-pan” (or something suitable) to cover the former water heater’s flue vent to the outside to finish my work. I stuck a towel in it in the meantime. Also gotta terminate the gas line as a drop leg.
My electric service panel was conveniently “right there” and already had a 30a breaker marked WATER HEATER that hadn‘t been used in…well, twenty-two years. The electric water heater was F-A-R cheaper than another gas unit, so this worked out well for me. Natural gas USED to be cheap to run, but I'm not seeing that now.
By the way, twenty-two years is an exceptional service life for that previous water heater. They don't make them like that anymore.

The HEADLIGHTS on my Elantra?