Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm curious how it handles in the snow without snow tires. I bought chains for the snowboarding season, but I'm really curious about general snow driving. Will it go up my steep driveway? My '98 Corolla never could with snow on there.

Also, is there an equivalent to the 2 on my gear settings when driving downhill? Or do I have to manually go to the 2nd gear?

·
Registered
87 Posts
The 2 settings below D on some cars are just first and second gear, which you can change yourself by moving the shifter to the left and just leaving it in first.

As far as the snow, I got my 2011 SE in February (in New York) so I have had plenty of experience in the snow - it handled very well once on the road, and the computer systems did a good job kicking in to help keep the car from slipping. The ability to get out of a driveway or snowy spot is a different story. I had a tough times getting the car going from a snowed-in parking space on more than one occassion. For comparison, my father's 2009 Malibu is 300+ lbs. heavier and had an even harder time, so I guess if you're looking for a snow-prowler just buy an SUV.

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
QUOTE (Syitalian25 @ Oct 23 2010, 06:02 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=365611
The 2 settings below D on some cars are just first and second gear, which you can change yourself by moving the shifter to the left and just leaving it in first.