Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
807 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well one of my tires has been losing pressure this last week, found myself having to add air every 3 days or so.
Asked the local tire shop to take a look at it and they say I need a new tire, I have a hole in the sidewall.
I have the tires that came with the vehicle Kumho Solus kl21 225/55r18 with around 22,000 miles on them
Now they say this tire is on back order and offered me a michelin defender or a bridgestone.
So what are the thoughts on using one different tire? any drawbacks with this or should I try to find somewhere that can get me the Kumho tire.
I am no tire expert and would appreciate advice from my fellow forum members

thanks

·
22,788 Posts
Well one of my tires has been losing pressure this last week, found myself having to add air every 3 days or so.
Asked the local tire shop to take a look at it and they say I need a new tire, I have a hole in the sidewall.
I have the tires that came with the vehicle Kumho Solus kl21 225/55r18 with around 22,000 miles on them
Now they say this tire is on back order and offered me a michelin defender or a bridgestone.
So what are the thoughts on using one different tire? any drawbacks with this or should I try to find somewhere that can get me the Kumho tire.

thanks
If there is a hole in the sidewall, you're pretty much screwed. I'm surprised they aren't trying to sell you two of them. Most tire stores will refuse to mount one different tread pattern with a different pattern opposite it on the axle. They claim the design difference could alter the vehicle's tracking and stability. Opens them up to liabilities in the event you have a crash and want to blame the tire and the store. I'm no expert. Just reporting what I've heard from various tire stores.

You could do a search by brand and size and see if there are any stores nearby that can bail you out on one tire, like size and brand.