Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to eveybody,my daughter has a 03 Accent that runs good starts good etc,but gets poor milage.Spark plugs are dark brown on all cyl. Replaced them and air filter,which was clean.There were no codes showing in PCM.Dealer wants 400.00 to service and then they will try to find problem.Car has 60k and has been trouble free since newand doesnt use oil.If anyone has any suggestions on what I should start looking for they would be welcome. I am new to electronic engine managment but have rebuilt and tuned a lot of carbed autos,bikes.Thanks for any info. in advance.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I just recently purchased a 2002 Accent and also found that the mileage was rather poor for a supposed "economical" vehicle. However, I realized after a long drive to visit my Dad, the mileage was ALOT better on the highway than in town. It also has such a small gas tank 9.9 gallons. I'm getting about 35 miles to the gallon. Don't know if this helps, but at least someone is interested. :)

·
Registered
10 Posts
try removing the ground cable from the battery for about 5 min. and press the brake pedal during this time this will reset the computer. By doing this you will not set off any engine codes but the computer will be set to new factory specs which means it will not compensate for worn items such as spark plugs air filter etc. no worries after three drive cycles the vehicle will go back to the previous setting if need be. maybe by performing this it will fix any minor problem that that may be responsible for your poor mpg. Another thing you can do is replace the air filter with a K&N I have one on each of my Hyundai's (TIBURON&SONATA)and they b oth get about 40 more miles to the tank.. good luck

·
Registered
1 Posts
I had mine fitted with a K&N filter, milege improves marginally but the engine runs alot smoother and quieter at high speed.... used to sound "breatheless" when travelling at 130km/h.