Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
She loves just about everything about the car except for the fact the radio volume turns waaaay down when car is in reverse. I have to admit, I find this feature ridiculous. Some people say it helps the driver “see better”, but I consider that absurd. I’ve been driving since I was 16 years old (I’m 38 now) and have never gotten into a car accident while reversing, regardless of whether I have the radio cranked on or turned off. I get it though, some need silence while backing their cars up, and others (like me and my fiancé) do not, so therefore the options to turn this feature on/off should be up to the driver and not the manufacturer. So I’m on here, asking if there is any way to disable this stupid nanny-state feature?

Also, while my 2016 Sonata Hybrid is at the dealership for warranty repairs, I’m using a loaner from the dealership. A 2018 Elantra with the same dumb feature. How do we disable this? Please tell me there is a way!!

·
Registered
1,215 Posts
Seriously dude, how far do you drive in reverse? Have a 1/2 mile driveway and can't turn around?

Glad she likes the car except for this Major Defect!

It's done for a good reason.

·
Registered
206 Posts
See if you disable the speed adjusting volume feature if that turns it off.. I don't think my 2016 does this, but if it does, I have never noticed...

·
Registered
167 Posts