Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not sure if this has been asked, search didn't reveal anything.
How do I know if their is a factory amp?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
84 Posts
Are there any kind of adjustments that you can make to the stock amplifier? It seems that the volume , when i use my ipod is better than the radio and XM. XM seems to be the lowest. i know this is not a high end stereo.... i just wanted to know if you can make any adjustments
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
QUOTE (charlesj123 @ Jun 28 2010, 06:01 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=336915
Look for a sub woofer on your rear deck and your radio must be Infinity or JBL.

The amp is located in the trunk at the right behind the side carpet.

We just bought a used '09 Sonata GLS and had the same question. I thought you had to have an upgraded stereo to have the subwoofer, but it appears that we have a stock stereo with a subwoofer. Is this possible?

I haven't checked behind the carpet yet, but will tonight.

Also, does anyone know of a website or location where I can enter the VIN to get a "build sheet" or RPO list of the options on our new car?

Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,204 Posts
QUOTE
We just bought a used '09 Sonata GLS and had the same question. I thought you had to have an upgraded stereo to have the subwoofer, but it appears that we have a stock stereo with a subwoofer. Is this possible?
You may be mistaking the "plug" in the parcel tray for the subwoofer. Open the trunk and look at the underside of the parcel tray, where the child seat anchors are located. If you have a round black plastic plug, you don't have a subwoofer. If you see the back end of a speaker with magnet and wires connected, you have a subwoofer.

Dunno 'bout the "build sheet" but maybe a Hyundai dealer can help you find out exactly what options you have.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
QUOTE (Dennis the Mennis @ Jul 12 2010, 12:02 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=341062
You may be mistaking the "plug" in the parcel tray for the subwoofer.

Good call Dennis. After actually looking under the package shelf it was infact the "plug" that you described. Sorry fo the silly question, I asked it after a quick glance in the trunk as we were considering the purchase of the vehicle.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Mine has the stock stereo... for now. What size is the "plug?" If it's a 15", I could probably find it useful for a free-air application and save some cargo space. 15" subs in "upgraded" Korean car stereos is a little unreasonable, though, isn't it? Ooh! it stopped raining!

...WOW! 8"... ... ... ...Nevermind. Pair of 15s in the trunk it is...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
I know I'm REALLY late to this party but I just bought my 07 Azera on Sunday. That infinity system is crap and needs to be replaced ASAP! I'm glad somebody put a post in about the amp as that will be very useful when I install the Kicker 6Ch and need to integrate the wiring to the speakers. Are there any wiring diagrams available for the amp anywhere? I really don't want to run new wires to the doors if avoidable. I'll search the forum but if anybody knows of links it would be appreciated!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Bolts, did you get a wiring diagram? I just bought my 2009 Azera Saturday and agree with the Infinity statement. I have the 10 speaker system and it still blows, and I'm a big fan of JBL / Infinity.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,262 Posts
Amp adjustments...

Are there any kind of adjustments that you can make to the stock amplifier? It seems that the volume , when i use my ipod is better than the radio and XM. XM seems to be the lowest. i know this is not a high end stereo.... i just wanted to know if you can make any adjustments
Not to or on the amp itself. Your only adjustments are on your HU's EQ.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
689 Posts
Not to or on the amp itself. Your only adjustments are on your HU's EQ.

That sucks. At least if there was just a gain pot - adjustable with a screwdriver. I listen to a lot of 'older' stuff(pre 1990s) that doesn't have gallons of bass eq'd into it, and I would have liked to have turned that sub amp up a tad instead of using the Bass control in the EQ setup menu.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top