Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the first vehicle I've owned with ABS/TCS and I absolutely hate it. Aside from the fact that it's incredibly annoying when it activates, it eliminates my ability to feel the road surface when braking or accelerating. Is there a way to disable this horrible system (pulling fuses, perhaps)?

I've been driving for 40+ years in snow and ice and have never needed ABS/TCS, so please don't lecture me about the wonders of modern automotive electronics. I know how to handle these conditions and having a computer separate me from the road is not beneficial.

Thanks

Brian

·
Registered
12,635 Posts
Hello Brian.

I wont bore you with the wonders of modern automotive electronics, but I don't think disabling the ABS will make the car feel any different.

But if you insist on trying it, pulling the ABS1 fuse will certainly disable the ABS/ESC system but who knows what other effects it might have on other systems. If the car has electric power steering for example that usually shares sensor data with the ABS/ESC so you could end up with very heavy steering making the car practically undriveable. You'll also get constant ABS/ESC warning lights on the instrument cluster when the system is disabled. Not much you can do about that I'm afraid.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your quick and thorough response.

Before I saw your post, I found the 10A fuse marked "ABS" under the hood (#13 in the diagram in the box). Pulling that fuse disables the ABS/TCS, exactly as I hoped. When braking or accelerating on a loose surface, it feels like a "normal" car, which is a relief. I can finally feel what's going on at the road surface.

However, it has some other side-effects:

• The ABS, ECS and Brake lights on the dash come on. I expected the first two, as you mentioned, but not the Brake light.