Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Kinda surprised me more than anything, but just had both CV Joint assemblies replaced this past week on my '11 Limited.

First started noticing a rumbling, grinding noise in the front driver's side on right hand turns while accelerating a couple months ago. Was very light, but gradually got worse over time. Got it into the dealer a little over a week ago, and they said there was excessive play in the right axle/cv assembly. They replaced it under warranty.

Fixed the problem for the most part, but I was still having the issue on harder right turns and entering an on-ramp and accelerating. Felt like I was driving over a rumble strip and the wheel wanted to rip off! Took it back, and they replaced the left axle/cv assembly. Except this time they tell me a clip inside had broken and the left axle had actually pulled out from the transmission.

I'm no mechanic by any means, but this just boggled my mind. Not sure how this happened, let alone to both axles??? I never hit any curbs or potholes or anything hard, I drive casual for the most part, but punch the pedal from time to time for a little fun but nothing crazy.

Tech said they had a Santa Fe in recently for the same problem, and really couldn't say why the clips were breaking, or how the axles developed excessive play and needed to be replaced.

Has anyone heard of a TSB or any ongoing issues with the axle/cv joint assemblies?

·
Registered
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
2,286 Posts
So you got "the shaft" too!! :D Just kidding

I also had both of my CVs replaced within 5K of each other. One had a broken boot (left) and the other clicked when backing up (right).

I do not think that there is a TSB/recall or anything on them, just that there was a bad batch that was installed on a production run of Sonatas before being caught.