Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just switched from an iPhone 5 to Galaxy S4. Has anyone been able to successfully use a USB connection? When I do it the phone keeps switching between being connected via USB installer and device (on the device) and it never establishes a complete connection and only charges (hardly at all though). Bluetooth works well enough but when Im listening to the car radio and I have google maps running on the phone it doesnt interrupt the radio via bluetooth like the iphone used to....is there a setting im missing? Pardon my ignorance im brand new to android and havent had the phone 24 hours yet. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
96 Posts
It's really weird with android most things are set up for iPhone I've never tried using my s4 through usb you may be able to get it to read as a flash drive with a app though I'll try on my lunch break and get back to you

·
Registered
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
2,291 Posts
I have a Galaxy Note II (ATT i317 model) and I am able to use it as a flash drive. IIRC, you have to select the option for it to be a USB device on the phone screen. Also (not calling you dumb or anything) but your music has to be on the INTERNAL SD card. This is the one that is shared via the cable, not the external one.

You will get song/album/artist info and ability to change tracks via the steering wheel controls.

S4 is a bit newer than my phone so there may be another setting. But I know that I had to move a copy of my MP3s over to the internal card for them to be recognized.

Slightly off topic==anyone ever try playing Pandora via their iPod or iPhone using the cable? The system recognizes Pandora's album info and displays it on the screen. Pretty neat feature that I never knew existed until today!

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Doesn't work whether I select using the phone as a media device or installer. It only charges and errors out when I plug it in

·