Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 03' Elantra that has set a code P1529. I know that means that the TCM has requested the MIL to be on. I also have no communicatiuon with the TCM. I check all the fuses and relays, which all checked out good. I am hoping someone else has ran into this issue and has an idea or if anyone has a wiring diagram for the ECU and TCM. Thank you in advance for any help!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,851 Posts
1529 by itself means just like you say. Usually you'll get more codes, like in the 700 to 800 range for transmission codes. The trans can't make the cel light by itself. It must give the ecu the 1529 request to do so. Just clear it and see if it comes back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (jsinton @ Jul 12 2010, 06:48 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=341203
1529 by itself means just like you say. Usually you'll get more codes, like in the 700 to 800 range for transmission codes. The trans can't make the cel light by itself. It must give the ecu the 1529 request to do so. Just clear it and see if it comes back.

Okay I will give that a try.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,552 Posts
QUOTE (scmangler @ Jul 12 2010, 10:31 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=341249
Okay I will give that a try.
Dont think it will happen... MIL request is because of DTC in the TCM... You need access to scanner that will break into the TCM to obtain the stored DTC(s).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
QUOTE (sbr711 @ Jul 12 2010, 10:50 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=341252
Dont think it will happen... MIL request is because of DTC in the TCM... You need access to scanner that will break into the TCM to obtain the stored DTC(s).
I am using a Snap-On Modis scanner and when I try to access the TCM it says "no communication make sure key is in the on position" which it is so I think I have a wiring or computer problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Okay problem solved. I wiggled the connectors to the TCM and got communication. I got 2 trans range sensor codes and discovered that the battery had leak all over the switch causing it to melt. I replaced the switch and all is good now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
290 Posts
I did some brake work the other day. I used a 4" grinder to smooth off the rust ridge at the top edge of the front rotors. I do this with the car on jack stands and a screw driver inserted on one rotor to keep it from spinning. This forces the other rotor to spin, and I use the grinder while the rotor is spinning--this yields a nice even finish.
When I finished, the MIL was lit with a 1529 code. I guess the computer could not understand how the cars was operating at 30 mph on one side and 0 mph on the other!!
I erased the code and it has not come back.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top