Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is one of those viciously debated car topics, so lets get to it. Civility is optional.

I find that auto care companies are one of the worst offenders when it comes to false information to the public. Not that I am a professional detailer or anything, but i cleaned enough of my cars and used enough of these products to get a basic understanding of what these things do. It can get very complicated, especialyl when you have someone like "Chemical Guys" selling 6 different types of car wash soaps for some reason.

Keep in mind I am in a NYC apartment, so i do not have the luxury of a driveway and a hose. So far I use Meguire's wash and wax, one bucket with grit guard. I go to the self serve washes with pressure washers and bring my own supplies. I have two mits, lambswool(synthetic) and microfiber for the wheels and bottom trim. I take off 90% of the dirt with the water pressure, lightly apply the mit and glaze it over the car.

Every 4 to 5 months I apply a sealant. I used to be a wax guy, but the sealant has opened my eyes to a whole new world of durance. I may clay the car this month, it's been 2 years since my purchase, and then reapply sealant. I've developed quite the build up(which is good) of protection, but it's time to clean the slate. Especially after a couple of winters.

·
Registered
2017 Sonata Sport 2.0T
2,038 Posts
Im pretty basic in my maintenance of the 3 vehicles that are on the road weekly, wife's H2, my Sonata and my Road Glide.

They get washed weekly, Meguiars products, soap, black paste wax,ultimate polish, scratch 2.0, ultimate quick detailer and quick wax. Weekly using 2 buckets (soap and rinse) the car gets washed and windows done and vacuum. During the middle of the week Ill usually do one quick wipe down using Quick Detailer and Quick Wax and the windows. ( waterless and takes 15-20 min) .