Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just finishing a major maintenance session on 2003 2.7L v6. Valve cover oil leakage killed the alternator last summer so hasn't been driven much lately (no further than battery charge allowed safe return home). But engine itself was running fine and quietly. Due to uncertain maintenance history of the car purchased last spring, I decided to do the alternator, valve covers, water pump, timing belt, tensioner, serpentine belt, etc,.. for a complete job.

Perhaps I should mention that while not a professional mechanic, I have been twisting wrenches for many years and have overhauled many engines for trucks, cars, and boats. I am the "no-charge" extended family mechanic.. and work outside in the open so progress is often slow per weather and other demands on time. But Hyundai vehicles are new to the fleet so am unfamiliar to some things.

I started by aligning all timing marks first, marked old belt, then transferred camshaft marks carefully to new belt. Now the crank pulley and TB sprocket wheel were frozen together, and had to be removed as a unit, so I could not mark the belt at the crank location. But when the sprocket was placed back by itself, the timing mark was correct and I had been very diligent not to allow any rotation to occur during disassembly. I checked all marks after hand rotating engine several turns, and again a couple of days later as more assembly occurred.